UP Polls: BJP Releases 4th List, Former IPS Officer Asim Arun of Kannauj

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Friday released its fourth list of candidates, comprising 85 names, for the upcoming parliamentary elections in Uttar Pradesh. The ruling party has awarded tickets to former Congress MP Aditi Singh and former Kanpur Police Commissioner Asim Arun, both of whom joined the party recently.

While Arun, who joined the BJP on January 16, was lined up from Kannauj, Singh, who was inducted in November last year, will challenge Rae Bareli, where she is a sitting lawmaker. Kannauj, meanwhile, is held by the opposition Samajwadi (SP) party, whose candidate, Anil Kumar Dohare, beat BJP’s Banwari Lal Dohare in the 2017 state polls.

Yogesh Verma, the incumbent MP for Lakhimpur, was repeated for this seat. The decision is significant in the context of the violent Lakhimpur Kheri case last October, in which four farmers and a local journalist were run over by a car allegedly driven by Ashish Mishra, the son of the Minister of Union and Lakhimpur MP Ajay Mishra ‘Teni’. In the ensuing violence, two BJP workers and a driver were lynched.

Overall, the list contains names for no less than 13 Scheduled Caste (SC) seats, including Kannauj, from where Asim Arun will be competing.

Elections to the Uttar Pradesh assembly will be held in seven phases, starting on February 10. The following ballots will take place on February 14, 20, 23, 27, March 3 and 7. The counting of the votes for the 403 constituencies of the assembly will be done on March 10.

The BJP had previously announced the candidacy of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath (Gorakhpur Urban) and MP CM Keshav Prasad Maurya (Sirathu). Former CM and Samajwadi party leader Akhilesh Yadav is expected to challenge Karhal, while Bhim army leader Chandrashekhar Azad will take on Adityanath.

Previous Disputes relating to Senegalese domain names: UDRP with the WIPO
Next IPS LCD Display Market Trends, Growth, Scope, Size, Global Analysis and Forecast by 2026